Highway 54

Brown teddy bear with standard stitching and right eye removed. Soaked from the rain on highway 54, it was just a mere few miles away from where my world stopped. Everything from that day except for the smells were a distant memory. The smells…the smell of the air thickening as it happened, the smell of the rain kissed with humidity, and the smell of blood.

The scent alone wouldn’t relent as it became a constant and even permanent reminder of the events that happened on that rainy day. As I clutch the teddy bear in my arms I try to forget but the memories were everywhere, including the tiny shards of glass hidden on the road sprinkled with the blood of my son. But I had no choice. It was the only way I could keep my marriage.

Leave a Reply

